

STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT FILE NO. 51870

In re Hearing on the Redistricting of the Fifth Judicial District.

ORDER

WHEREAS, the judges of the Fifth Judicial District have submitted to the Supreme Court a plan to redistrict the county court districts of the Fifth Judicial District, and

WHEREAS, said redistricting plan was submitted on behalf of the Supreme Court to the Subcommittee on Redistricting of the Minnesota Judicial Planning Committee, and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Gerald W. Kalina, Chairman of the said redistricting subcommittee, has made recommendations, including amendments, on behalf of the subcommittee to the Supreme Court regarding this matter, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has ordered that a hearing on the redistricting plan of the Fifth Judicial District be held in the Supreme Court chambers in the State Capitol in Saint Paul, Minnesota, at 9:30 o'clock a.m. on Friday, December 19 1980, and WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has ordered that advance notice of the hearing be given by the publiclation of its Order of October 27, 1980, in the Supreme Court edition of <u>Finance</u> <u>and Commerce</u>, the <u>Saint Paul Legal Ledger</u> and <u>Bench and Bar</u>, and

WHEREAS, the above order has been complied with, and a hearing on the redistricting plan of the Fifth Judicial District has been held on December 19, 1980, Judge Gerald W. Kalina having made a presentation regarding the redistricting plan, and

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court recognizes and accepts the responsibility conferred upon the court by Minn. Stat. § 487.01, subd. 6 (1978) and by promulgating this Order intends to discharge its obligations under the law, and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Minnesota Supreme Court that, wherever possible, judges of county court should maintain chambers in the counties of their residence, and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Minnesota Supreme Court that, wherever possible, judicial resources should be allocated in such a way that each county in a judicial district shall have one county court judge resident therein before any other county in the judicial district shall have two or more resident county court judges,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the county county districts of the Fifth Judicial District are constituted as follows:

- 2 -

District A: Lincoln, Lyon and Redwood Counties; District B: Brown, Nicollet, Watonwan and Cottonwood Counties; District C: Blue Earth County; District D: Jackson, Martin and Faribault Counties; and District E: Nobles, Rock, Murray and Pipestone Counties.

IT IS HEREBY FURTHER ORDERED that the location of chambers of county court judges in the Fifth Judicial District remain as presently constituted; subject to future order of this Court.

IT IS HEREBY FURTHER ORDERED that the county court districts as provided above shall be effective January 1, 1981, and continuing in effect thereafter.

Dated: December 24, 1980

BY THE COURT:

hief Justice Rober Л. Associate Justice Ĉ. Otis

C. Donald Peterson, Associate Justice

Todd, Associate Justice nce R. Yetka R Lawrence R. Assoc iate Justice George Scott, Associate Justice Rosalie E. Wahl, Associate Justice Douglas K. Amdahl, Associate Justice John E, Simonett, Associate Justice

- 4 -